Though the land here was first farmed in 1708 and continued in cultivation under the school’s governance beginning in 1795—its dairy was first “modernized” in 1913. The dairy barn built in 1870 (just south of what is now our stadium tennis courts) was dismantled and moved to its current location south of Oak Lane; we see it in this 1913 photo, to the left of and connected to the new, longer and lower cow shed. That shed housed more efficient and sanitary equipment that would meet new standards for milk production. Agricultural classes were added in the 1920s and Westtown students could gain experience by working on the farm.